Skip navigation
The Australian National University

Minoru Hokari scholarship

The Minoru Hokari Memorial Scholarship has been established in honour of the pathbreaking scholar and inspiring colleague, Minoru Hokari (1971-2004) who made outstanding contributions towards ‘cross-culturalising' historical practice and towards developing a respectful collaborative research strategy with Indigenous Australians.

Further details are available on the School of History website. If you have any enquiries please contact Shino Konishi at

We are still raising funds for this Scholarship - donations welcome!

2011 Recipient

Associate Professor Glen Stasiuk of Murdoch University, Western Australia, won the 2011 scholarship. He has begun research on his project Swan River Colony (1829-1834): From Collaboration to Conflict.

2010 recipient

The 2010 recipient was Yuriko Yamanouchi - download the 2010 Minoru Hokari Scholarship report (PDF 48KB)

Pictured: Yuriko Yamanouchi on Thursday Island

Ann McGrath (centre) with Minoru Hokari's parents. Photo taken at the Tokyo Exhibition


Updated: 23 November 2011/ Responsible Officer:  Centre Director / Page Contact:  Web Publisher